Inspire. Dream. Achieve.

Age 3 through 8th grade

News, Events + Social Media

  • All School
Independence Celebrates 43 Years of Patriot Pride

Independence joyfully marked its 43rd birthday with a virtual Founders' Day assembly and celebration on April 9. The virtual gathering brought together current students, faculty and staff, along with parents, alumni, former faculty and members of the Board of Trustees. As part of the online gathering, special named scholarships were awarded to current students and the Rising Star and Outstanding Alumni awards were announced.

Congratulations to Rising Star Alumni award recipients, Nidhi Kedda '11 and Michaella Moore '12 and Outstanding Alumni award recipient, Dr. Jody Kamps Varela '87.

The following scholarships were presented to current students:

The Young Writer’s Scholarship - Alice Gu and Stuart Burris

The Marsh Wiltbank Uebler Scholarship - Landyn Harra and Joseph Nyabiosi

The Teresa T. Roach Scholarship - Eliza Nichols

The Jack DiMaio Memorial Scholarship - Sam Hanna and Caroline Hahn

The Anne G. Hurt Memorial Scholarship - Navina Patel and Paul Corbett

The Margaret C. and William H. Cantwell Award for Musical Excellence - Laura Garrett and Peter Brennan

The Andrew N. Yatzus Scholarship - Brie Wilson

The Dr. Mia Shorteno Fraser Citizenship Scholarship - Sophie Crain and Tiernan Matthews

The Courage Scholarship - Lydia and Colton Durkee

The Board Presidents’ Scholarship - Valeria Liu and Trent Woodland