Skip To Main Content

On May 16, 2022, Head of School Victoria C. (Vicky) Yatzus announced that she will be retiring at the conclusion of the 2022–23 academic year. Independence Board President Amelia Julian Wyant '90 followed Vicky's announcement with a letter to the community thanking Vicky for what will be 15 years of service to The Independence School when she retires in June 2023. The Independence Board of Trustees has established a committee to lead the search for our next Head of School.

Educators Collaborative Logo

As the first step in the process, the Search Committee has engaged the consulting services of
Educators Collaborative (EC). A general overview of the search timeline is below.

While Vicky and our school community wrap up an inspiring school year and plan for another, the important work of guiding Independence to its next brilliant chapter begins. Please visit this page often. All previous messages related to the Heads Search are archived below. 

Community Input during the Evaluation Phase

August 12, 2022

The Search Committee and our consultants from Educators Collaborative look for input from the Independence community during the Head Search process. Looking ahead to this fall, community members who wish to meet the final candidates will have an opportunity to do so. As part of the anticipated Finalist visits, the school will hold a number of meetings for faculty, staff, parents and students to visit with the candidates. We deeply value your participation and thank you in advance. Those who meet with Finalists will then be invited to complete a confidential survey offering their impressions, which will be collected and collated by our consultants and shared back with the Search Committee. The schedule for these forums with the Finalists will be posted on this webpage.

In addition, we are pleased to announce a Guidance Council, composed of faculty and parents, who will also assist in evaluating the Finalists.

Parent Guidance Council Members: Faculty Guidance Council Members:

Mike Barlow

Barb Annable

Christine Cook

Vita Biddle

Ryan Haydu

Tommy Brangs

John Helmick

Kelly Huxtable

Conrad Langenegger

Kevin McDonald

Hao Ni

Barb Scarpone

Jenn Powell

Hilary Sophrin

Parker Slaton

Josee Spence

Siyan Wang

Dahra Williams

Guidance Council members have committed to a series of meetings. After orientation with Educators Collaborative, they will, as a group, conduct a formal interview with each and every Finalist and will individually provide structured feedback to the Search Committee and Educators Collaborative. This engaged and thoughtful group reflects a deep commitment to the future of our School and we thank them in advance for their time and insight!

Please continue to visit this Head of School Search webpage for updated information. Dates and times for the forums with the Finalists will be posted on the webpage as well as emailed to faculty, staff and parents

We look forward to your participation in the process. We also look forward to the start of a new school year under Vicky’s continued leadership. She and her team have a brilliant new year planned!

See you in September!

Warm regards,

Mona Singh
Search Commitee Chair

Amelia Wyant
Board President

Head of School Search FAQ

Search Committee