Inspire. Dream. Achieve.

Age 3 through 8th grade

Meet the Athletic Department

Heather Horsey
Co-Director of Athletics
hhorsey@tisde.org
302-239-0330


Heather Horsey joined Independence as a health and physical education teacher in 1999, before adding assistant athletic director to her resume and eventually, co-Director of Athletics with Jason Motta in the fall of 2011. Prior to beginning her tenure at Independence, Mrs. Horsey earned her degree in physical education studies, with a concentration in exercise science, from the University of Delaware.

In addition to her roles during the school day, Mrs. Horsey also coaches co-ed cross country in the fall and co-ed indoor track in the winter. She previously led the girls’ soccer program and started a girls’ fitness class. In the fall of 2015, her boys’ cross country team captured the Delaware Independent Schools Conference Championship, while the girls achieved the same feat a year later.

At the beginning of the decade, Mrs. Horsey took over Summer at Independence’s wildly successful Adventure program, which has since expanded from a few days each season to three perennially sold-out, action-packed weeks of activities.

Her family’s passion for Independence spans three generations. As the child of a longtime employee, Mrs. Horsey grew up around the school, and her daughter now shares that same love as a student.


Jason Motta
Co-Director of Athletics
jmotta@tisde.org
302-239-0330


Jason Motta joined Independence as a health and physical education teacher in 2002 and later settled in to his role of co-Director of Athletics with Heather Horsey in the fall of 2011. Prior to beginning his tenure at Independence, Mr. Motta earned an honors degree in physical education, with a minor in coaching, from the University of Delaware.

A four-year letter winner for UD from 1998-2001, Mr. Motta helped lead the Blue Hens to back-to-back America East Conference titles in 1999 and 2000, as well as an NCAA Elite Eight berth in ’99. Additionally, he served as a member of Delaware’s men's lacrosse coaching staff from 2003-06 and is one of only two players in school history to play and coach in the NCAA Tournament for the Division I program.

In December 2005, the Philadelphia Barrage selected Mr. Motta in the 12th round of the Major League Lacrosse Draft, and he went on to help the franchise win consecutive World Championships in 2006-07.

In the spring of 2007, Mr. Motta started Independence’s boys’ lacrosse program, which completed its sixth-straight winning season after earning an 8-2 record in 2017.



2017-18 COACHES

For optimized mobile and tablet viewing, turn device horizontal.

FALL
SPORTHEAD COACHEMAIL
Co-ed Cross CountryHeather Horsey
hhorsey@tisde.org
Field HockeyMichelle Walch

mmhindman@msn.com

Boys' SoccerJessie Copeland
jcopeland@tisde.org
Girls' VolleyballFarrell Goble

flgoble@verizon.net

WINTER

sporthead coachemail
Boys' BasketballMike August
maugust@tisde.org
Girls' BasketballTerri Shockley
tshockley@tisde.org
Co-ed Indoor TrackCarley Hecht
Heather Horsey
checht@tisde.org
hhorsey@tisde.org
WrestlingKevin Woodland

kevin.woodland217@gmail.com
SPRING
SPORTHEAD COACHEMAIL
BaseballMike Augustmaugust@tisde.org
Boys' LacrosseJason Mottajmotta@tisde.org
Girls' LacrosseKelly Bushkbush@tisde.org
Girls' SoccerCarley Hechtchecht@tisde.org
Co-ed TennisHeather Watthwatt@tisde.org